top of page


Lazos sobre el Atlántico

'Lazos sobre el Atlántico' is born from the bond that links the Canary Islands with the continents that surround it: Africa, America and Europe. As a cornerstone, given its location in the Atlantic Ocean, the archipelago has been nourished by a broad cultural spectrum. The so-called tri-continental nature of the islands has inspired this project that awakens and evokes feelings through the music emanating from the strings of the guitar in a journey through the works of authors from Spain and Latin America.

This project was reflected in the solo recording debut of Luis Alejandro García, with a homonymus title, and produced by the JSM Guitar Records label.Such a CD came up with the success of the guitarist from La Laguna in 'Miquel Llobet' International Guitar Competition of Barcelona 2017, in which he won the First Prize, the Audience Award and the Llobet Prize.

Repertoire (selection):

  • Afrocuban Dances (arr. Manuel Barrueco) - Ernesto Lecuona

  • Venezuelan valses - Antonio Lauro

  • Aire Vasco - Antonio Jiménez Manjón

  • The Black Decameron - Leo Brouwer

  • Fantasía Sevillana, Op. 29 - Joaquín Turina

  • Suite Valenciana - Vicente Asencio

  • Negro del icono de Spotify
  • Negro del icono del Amazonas
  • Negro del icono de iTunes
  • Negro icono de Google Play
  • Negro del icono de YouTube
  • Icono negro Deezer



Musical Romanticism naturally arose in relation with the rest of the arts in search of a new truth and new horizons. Moved for emotions and feelings, romantic musicians broke the classical barriers and built musical structures of greater depth and freedom, endowerd with varied resources.


In its case, the guitar also experienced its particular Romanticism, played by authors such as Napoléon Coste, Johann Kaspar Mertz or Giulio Regondi. However, 'Romantic Essences' is not limited to this period, but it is intended to delve into the inherent substance in the romantic. Thus through an intertemporal kaleidoscope, it starts from the music of XIX century authors, and moves forward, stopping in compositions inspired or based on the aforementioned essence, a way of homage, reflection or development.

Repertoire (selection):

  • Le Départ, Fantaisie Dramatique, Op. 31 - Napoléon Coste

  • Variations on a theme by Scriabin - Alexandre Tansman

  • Sonata Romántica - Manuel María Ponce

  • Rossiniana Nº1, Op. 119 - Mauro Giuliani

Repertoire with orchestra

Luis Alejandro García also works a wide range of repertoire for guitar and orchestra. Especially noteworthy will be his next debut as a soloist with the National Radio and Television Orchestra of Spain at Teatro Monumental, where he will perform Folías by the the composer Roberto Sierra (April 20'). Among other works, they appear in his repertoire:

  • Folías - Roberto Sierra

  • Concert for guitar and small orchestra - Heitor Villa-Lobos 

  • Concierto de Aranjuez - Joaquín Rodrigo

  • Fantasía para un Gentilhombre - Joaquín Rodrigo

  • Concert Nº1 in Re - Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco

  • Concierto del Sur - Manuel María Ponce

  • Concierto Andaluz (4 guitars and orchestra) - Joaquín Rodrigo

bottom of page